Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japan Universities: Study and Job Prospects 2017/2/9 01:07
Hello, I'm a student from Indonesia who's about to finish high school soon and today I just found out I got accepted into Sophia University's Faculty of Liberal Arts, and will most likely attend.

I originally wanted to go to the United States, but the plan fell through because my mom thought it was too expensive. She then suggested that I study in Tokyo instead and apply for Sophia University. So I did and was so nervous as they accept such a small amount of students, but eventually I got in.

My mom (who previously studied in Tokyo) told me that Sophia University is a top private university in Japan, that it is known for being international/global, and that its graduates get good jobs because it has a good reputation. However, after searching online and not finding Sophia on any world rankings, I'm beginning to wonder if it really is a "top" university. Is it comparable to let's say, Keio or Waseda?

I also read some old posts in this forum, saying that Japanese colleges are kind of a joke, there isn't much learning going on, and that it's a breeze. How accurate is this for Sophia or other universities?

And another thing is job prospects. My dream is to work for a UN organization, is this achievable if I study in Sophia? I'm not asking if it's guaranteed, just that if it's at least achievable. If not, just what kind of jobs do Sophia graduates normally get?

I would really appreciate it if someone can explain to me about how universities actually work in Japan. I really want to go, but after reading stuff online I'm feeling doubtful and confused. Please help me.
by marcochristian  

Re: Japan Universities: Study and Job Prospects 2017/2/10 03:24