Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Yet another credit card/paypal question 2017/10/11 19:49
Hi everyone,
I know the topic has been treated extensively, but I would like to have some specific help with my case if possible.

So, I got married and moved to Japan. I am a freelancer, and the only way I get paid with is paypal. Here comes the trouble, cause I opened a JP Paypal account, and the withdrawal limit is quite low. To raise it, they want me to register a credit card, but the problem is that I can't. I have been to some banks and the post office as well, and they can't give me a card if I haven't lived here one year at least. Some also want to see proofs of my job, but the problem is that I can't get money if I don't use paypal!

Is there any debit-visa-like card in Japan? I had a few when I was not living here, it's never been a problem to withdraw anything I needed, but staying here is impossible in the long term, with 50,000 yen per month only (as that's the limit)

I have the banks' cash ones, but they are useless to activate it, I need a card with the 16 digits code.

Thanks in advance to everyone who will be so patient to read through and answer :)
by CaptNemo  

Re: Yet another credit card/paypal question 2017/10/12 12:35
Several banks offer Visa debit cards; just Google it. Whether they will work with PayPal I don't know. Japanese PayPal is highly regulated.
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: Yet another credit card/paypal question 2017/10/12 13:21
Hi Firas, thanks for your reply.
Any example? I couldn't really find any, and my wife apparently doesn't understand the concept of visa debit, since what she got me was just a couple of cash cards I can't use :(
by CaptNemo rate this post as useful

Re: Yet another credit card/paypal question 2017/10/12 13:35