Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

gTemporary Visitorh to gLong Termh Parent 2018/2/19 17:38
Hi there!
Anybody have an idea on how to change a Temporary Visa to a Resident Visa???

I am a Filipina Long Term Resident here in Japan. I invited my mother through Visiting Relatives Visa and was granted and shefs already here since last month, January.
I am thinking of applying for a Residence Visa for her, probably as a gLong Term Residenth. Is that possible?
My mother is 72 years old, widowed and is diabetic. I donft want her to go back to the Philippines because nobody can look after her, shefs alone in our house. I worry too much so I want her to just stay here with me so I can look after her and seek medical treatment.
What should I do?
by MizTerYoza (guest)  

Re: gTemporary Visitorh to gLong Termh Parent 2018/2/19 19:08
Basically you need to convince immigration that your mother really, really needs to stay with you in Japan. Probably, you should consult with an immigration lawyer, who can help you present your case in the best possible light to maximise your chances. One question immigration will surely ask is why you can't live with your mother in the Philippines, so you better have a good answer to that.
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: gTemporary Visitorh to gLong Termh Parent 2018/2/19 20:03
Thanks for the answer and the idea, Firas!