Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Countryside Driving 2018/7/2 23:25
Hi All,

This is a question more aimed towards people living in Japan than the casual traveller.

I've been traveling around Japan a reasonable amount since 2011 but did not start to drive in Japan (as a traveller) since 2015. I've noticed the following and wanted a confirmation of the following idea..

On reasonably straight and safe roads, many local drivers have a sweet spot of 10-20 k/m over the notoriously slow speed limit.

Am I reading this correctly - as I've even had police overtake me the first few times I was in Japan obeying the speed limit. Note that I do consider Japan to be one of the safest and easiest countries to drive in as a tourist (outside of gridlocked major cities!)
by mfedley  

Re: Countryside Driving 2018/7/3 15:35
Local Japanese driver here.

In Japan, speed limits are indicated on poles or painted on roads in forms like these.
https://japandriverslicense.com/en/japanese-road-signs/
https://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E9%81%93%E8%B7%AF%E6%A8%99%E7%A4%BA

On very narrow residential roads where you'd see none of these signs at all, you are expected to drive slower than 20 km/hr.

On reasonably straight and safe roads, many local drivers have a sweet spot of 10-20 k/m over the notoriously slow speed limit.

I'm not sure if I understand this correctly, but are you talking about those who drive in, for example, 50 km/hr when the lawful speed limit is 30 km/hr?