Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Cost of private health insursance 2018/9/14 14:19
Hello,

I need some advice. I have been working in Japan for 10 years now, always for the same company, but came to the conclusion that I can probably do the same kind of work alone or in a small team and considering now to start my own company. Visa is no problem as I have a permanent residence visa, because I have been married for some years to a Japanese woman.

Now, my wife is not against the idea to start my own business, as we have enough money saved up to at least try it. But she is against it at this moment and tells me I should wait 4 or 5 years more and then I can still start my business. However, I am getting tired of my work, since I can easily see how much profitable it would be to do this work by myself and not for a company, where my salary will remain the same regardless how many projects I do. Also, I could easily make the same money (even when considering corporate taxes etc) in much less time and the best would be that I wouldn't need to travel 1,5 hours anymore to my office (Moving is not an option, since my wife works in the complete opposite direction and also have such a long way to work).

The reason my wife is against this big step in the moment is the health insurance. We have a 2 year old daughter and our son has just been born, so she believes it is safer to stay inside a company, since our children are also covered by my insurance).
Now, I don't know much about the Health insurance system here in Japan, but how much would does a private health insurance cost and does it have any disadvantages against the one I have as a company employee?

Thank you for your help and suggestions.
by City Hunter (guest)  

Re: Cost of private health insursance 2018/9/14 18:34