Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Thru Pass: Kyoto - Arima Onsen - Osaka bus? 2018/10/10 09:32
Hi,
I have never used any buses in Japan before and normally go for JR pass. But, this trip in Kansai making JR pass quite inconvenient. I read that Kansai Thru Pass can be use on buses in Kansai area. However, I also read in here differently about using it for direct buses. My plan is
D1 Kyoto to Arima onsen- Keihan or Hankyu direct bus 1,800 Y (a trip around Kyoto or Kyoto Ohara in the morning)
D2 Arima onsen to Osaka, Hankyu bus 1,370Y
D3 Koyasan (heritage pass 2,860Y)
D4 around Osaka city and taking Nakai train to KIX 920Y+

I plan to use KTP on D1-3 which will worth its price.

Is it usable for those direct buses?
If not, what is the better options?
Thank you for all the answer.
by Chiffon (guest)  

Re: Thru Pass: Kyoto - Arima Onsen - Osaka bus? 2018/10/10 12:52
D1 Kyoto to Arima onsen- Keihan or Hankyu direct bus 1,800 Y (a trip around Kyoto or Kyoto Ohara in the morning)
D2 Arima onsen to Osaka, Hankyu bus 1,370Y

I am afraid this bus is not covered by Kansai Thru Pass.
Read the Kansai Thru Pass PDF which states you can not
use Arima Express Line. These buses are "express" type
which require seat reservation.

But alternatively you can use conventional railways (Hankyu
and Kobe Electric Railway). You will need several transfers
and take more time, but they are covered by the pass.

One more note: If you take the express pass, you might not be
able to carry large baggages etc (I believe this risk is rather low).

https://www.hankyubus.co.jp/en/arima-kyoto.html

D3 Koyasan (heritage pass 2,860Y)
D4 around Osaka city and taking Nakai train to KIX 920Y+

I would use the pass for Day1 (you can also use it within Kyoto),
Day3 and Day4 and use the Express bus on Day2.

by frog1954 rate this post as useful