Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Teach english spouse visa AA degree no reply? 2018/10/22 06:08
Wassup everyone.

Hoping I can get some feedback here. Been living in Japan for a year now with my J-wife. For the first half of the year we lived with her parents in the countryside and I worked on their farm so all was good. But 3 months ago wifey got a REALLY good job offer in Tokyo so we made the move. Now in the states I completed my AA 2 year degree and then jumped into the workforce (10+ years in marketing/sales/advertising), when we moved to Japan we always thought we might move to the city so I have been taking Japanese classes.

The plan was for me to get an english teaching job until my Japanese is up to snuff and I can look for something else closer to my field. Since our move to Tokyo tho, I've applied to a ton of english schools and have only received call backs from TWO. I repeat.....TWO SCHOOLS. One of which shot me down because "I was too experienced" (I think they mean too old cuz I'm mid-30s and everyone else was fresh outta college) and the other I'm still interviewing with (but it has bad reviews on glassdoor..and a very sketchy sounding pay structure...so yeah better then nothing but not really hyped about it either).

Trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong here. I have been sending english resumes with a photo and a cover letter focusing on how my skill apply to english teaching and would help the school. Using proper english (I'm a lil lacks here because its a forum).

Is sending a Japanese resume better? Getting TESOL certified? I know some schools prefer the stereotype westerner over any westerner (blond hair, blue eyes) could that be a factor as I am not white? Yet i've heard of Nigerians teaching english so what am i doing wrong?