Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can an Indian get a teaching job in Japan? 2018/10/27 21:23
I'm a student from India. I am fluent in English and in my native language which is Hindi. I know conversational Japanese and I plan to get fluent at it till mid-2019. I also plan on learning Spanish and French which will make me a polyglot. I'm going to get a bachelor's degree in English and also a tefl after I finish school and will teach English by the side , giving me 3 years of experience in both online and offline teaching. I don't have any issues with accents I can speak in both British and American accent.
Will all this be enough for me to get an English teaching job in Japan? And if not ,what qualifications will help me become highly employable despite of being a non native speaker?
Sorry for the long question 😅
by Arpk  

Re: Can an Indian get a teaching job in Japan? 2018/10/28 21:33
If you are a non-native speaker of the English language, if you apply for a position looking for native speakers, you will need to have 8 or 12 years (forgot the exact number) of education "in" English (meaning educated "in" the English language, not studying the English language as a subject) to show that you are equivalent to one.

You say you will have a bachelor's degree (this doesn't have to be language related by the way), so that part is no problem. (It is "either" a bachelor's degree OR 3 or more years of language teaching experience that is required).

It will be a matter of finding an employer who is interested in your background and is willing to hire & sponsor you when you actually come to Japan. So the demand for teachers at the time when you are ready will play a role. Just one thing to note is that you will be competing against native speakers of English for teaching positions.