Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Student Visa to Tourist Visa 2019/1/9 15:55
Hello guys,

I create this post because I have a little problem right now.
I'm currently a Student in Japan (Language School) and my Visa expires on January 2020.

The fact is I have some familiar issues and I have to go back to my country before planned (I was pretending to stay here for at least 1 year).

Because of that, I want to travel around Japan, go outside of Tokyo and know more about the country before my departure flight (March 27). That's less than 90 days

Today I went to my language school to told them about my situation and because of that i'll quit school and spend this time traveling around Japan. I told them too that I want to go to Immigration Office and change my student visa to tourist visa.

After all of that the school staff was kinda mad about it and they told me that I need to leave the country in 1 month and I'm not allow to stay here for more than that.

I know that they cannot revoke or denied my Visa but still I'm kinda worried about how quickly can immigration react about the notification of that I left the school.

I really don't want to change my departure date flight.
Just to be clear, I'm not working and I don't have plans to do it.

My question is.
1- What can happen if I don't change my status visa of Student until the departure date? (27/03/2019)
2- How risky is going to the Immigration Office and apply for a change to Tourist Visa? Is there a high risk of being denied?

Thanks.-
by StriderJP (guest)  

Re: Student Visa to Tourist Visa 2019/1/9 21:15