Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Renewal of Spouse Visa. Foreign employment 2019/1/25 08:05
Has anyone renewed their spouse visa while being employed "abroad"
As in living and physically working in Japan but the company that employs you is not ..

I work as a contractor for a company based in Europe, that does not have an office/representation in Japan. My income is paid abroad. I work here.. Kind of remotely but also have dealings with local Japanese companies

Just wondering about the visa renewal and any issues

Anybody experienced any similar situation?
by Darren Russell (guest)  

Re: Renewal of Spouse Visa. Foreign employment 2019/1/25 13:25
Your renewal will be related to Spouse status, so your overseas employment may not be relevant, your marriage matters.
HOWEVER make sure your taxes and pension are up to date (paid).
You will need to show those as the immigration are getting strict on those for renewal.
Lacking will reduce you status period to 1 year instead of 3 or 5 years.

Depending on your resident status (for tax purpose), you may have to declare and pay taxes for overseas income.
http://www.nta.go.jp/english/taxes/individual/12007.htm
by @.. (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Renewal of Spouse Visa. Foreign employment 2019/1/25 15:05
Maybe I am wrong, but one of the requirement of Spouse visa is living together.
Is your wife living in Japan?

Abroad tax will not count. You need to have paid Japanese tax.

Maybe your wife can ask immigration which options you have, because you need to physically have to go to immigration to extend.
by justmyday rate this post as useful

Re: Renewal of Spouse Visa. Foreign employment 2019/1/25 15:53
Abroad tax will not count. You need to have paid Japanese tax.