Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Forced to go home after graduation? 2019/2/1 08:04
Hello,
Im currently studying in a language school in Osaka and graduate soon in March this year. After Graduation i canft go to higher school due to personal problems but i planned to stay and traveling a bit before my Visa expired( my Visa will be expried before July for exact). But the paperwork guy in my school told me that i have to leave Japan 1 month after graduation (before april) no matter what because i will lost my student status after graduation.
my question is is it legal to me to stay in Japan after graduation while my Student Visa still valid or i really have to go home.
p/s: i think that those guy scare that i may go illigal immigrant so they make me go home as soon as possible but that just my guess.
by AkiraVD  

Re: Forced to go home after graduation? 2019/2/1 15:12
You can stay until your status expires or is revoked. If immigration wants to revoke your status, they will contact you about it (be sure to check your mail regularly).

Alternatively, apply to change your status to Temporary Visitor.
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Forced to go home after graduation? 2019/2/1 15:32
I think you can not stay till the date expire.
You need to inform the immigration within 6 weeks of the change.
Your school may also inform immigration.

You need to go to immigration inform the change an get the suitable visa.
Maybe you will get a tourist visa.

by justmyday rate this post as useful

Re: Forced to go home after graduation? 2019/2/1 16:14
You need to inform the immigration within 6 weeks of the change.
Disagree. You/Your school have 14 days to inform immigration on your activities changes.
http://www.immi-moj.go.jp/english/tetuduki/kanri/shyorui/18.html