Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Does Japan have private foreign schools? 2019/4/9 09:20
Me and my family live in Taiwan, my 6 year old daughter, attends what is known here as a 'American' school, she is still in kindergarten. The 'American' school is not an international school, the students are largely Taiwanese, but the teaching is mostly done in english. Taiwan also has bilingual schools, my wife works at one, where the teaching is in both English and Chinese.
We would like to move to Japan and are looking for jobs, as I have a degree in Japanese. My question is does Japan have private foreign or bilingual schools and if so how common are they?
by Lunah (guest)  

Re: Does Japan have private foreign schools? 2019/4/9 10:06
Yes there are several private foreign schools (there are even some for north koreans or brazilians). Western school are often quite expensive, like very expensive. Not only in Tokyo but also in other big cities like Osaka, Yokohama...

I have a degree in Japanese
Well, not sure that having a degree in Japanese is impressive to Japanese people and Japanese recruiters. It's like having a degree in English and wanting to move to UK or to US. Unless you have something valuable like programming for example, you will have a hard time convincing them that being able to speak Japanese in Japan is an advantage...
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Does Japan have private foreign schools? 2019/4/9 10:49
Japan has a reasonable number of international schools. Some of the schools have mainly Japanese students, some have only international students. Note that apart from the Indian schools, they can be quite expensive. However, they may be similar in cost to International Schools in Taiwan.