Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Realistic itinerary for 9 days? 2019/4/10 19:42
Hi all,

I'm visiting Japan next month for 9 full days - it's my first time visiting, and there's SO much I want to see and do but I'm not sure I'm planning my time realistically.

As it stands I'm looking at:

Saturday - morning in Osaka, trip to Kobe from around lunchtime/in the afternoon, then back to Osaka for the evening
Sunday - trip to Nara in the morning, then back to Osaka for the afternoon and evening

Monday - travel to Koyasan, stay 1 night in Koyasan

Tuesday - Back to Osaka to travel onwards to Kyoto
Wednesday - all day in Kyoto, stay in Kyoto

Thursday - travel to Hakone, stay in Hakone

Friday - morning and lunch in Hakone, travel on to Tokyo
Saturday - all day in Tokyo
Sunday - all day in Tokyo

I don't mind early mornings or changing accommodation more frequently (I will be staying in hostels anyway).

However, there are many more things that I would love to be able to do - like make it to Naoshima Island, and visit Lake Kawaguchi.

Can anyone give me any tips on my itinerary and suggest how to better spend my time? Or do I just need to save these other bits for my next trip? :)

Thanks in advance!
by Fran (guest)  

Re: Realistic itinerary for 9 days? 2019/4/11 07:09
If it is your first time to Japan? I think you are rushing Kyoto (1.5 days) and Tokyo (2.0 days).

1/2 day for Nara is a rush. Only Kobe and Koyasan look like regular visit times.

Most first time travelers would spend 4 days in both Tokyo and Kyoto at a minimum normally. Up to you what you wanna do. But 9 days for 6 locations means you miss a lot. I would consider dropping a few locations. Hakone is between Kyoto and Tokyo, so you could keep that one. But I'd reconsider Kobe and Koyasan.