Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Life advice on living in Japan or the US? 2019/5/20 17:57
Hello,
I figure this forum would be good for getting life advice from expats in Japan, and are the only ones who can answer my question as my parents didn't have any advice for me.

I'm a biracial kid of the US and Japan, and haven't stepped out of this country once. Also, I'm more Asian looking hafu (imagine the singer Joji but more Asian)
I'm looking for some life advice on what path to take.

Currently, I'm a sophomore who goes to a Japanese English-taught liberal arts college, and I'm headed down that normal Shuukatsu path. My issue is, I'm not sure if this Japanese corporate life is what I want in the future, or if Japan is the country I want to be in --- I have American citizenship.

Although, I'm going to stick on this Japanese path for now, when I'm older (late 20's) I may feel that I want to move on from Japan to the states and apprentice for a trade, or something. Even if Japan is the only country I know.
(Not sure if that is smart)

So, I figured I should study abroad at the US to get an idea of that side of me.
For study abroad during college I have two choices:
If it's 1 semester I'll be in time for shuukatsu, I'm just not sure, if it's long enough to get a feel of America though.
Or, 2 semesters, probably long enough to get acquainted with my other side. But, could put me at a disadvantage for shuukatsu.
I want to go for 2 semesters, but I'm worried about my job outlooks.

I'm looking for some general life advice.
Any information, ideas, thoughts, suggestions.

At the core, my issues are that I've only been to Japan, and I'm not completely sure if this is the country I should live in for my whole life when I have the options to go to the states.
by LovesRanchDressing (guest)