Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Are you confident interpreting for police? 2019/5/21 05:23
Hello,

Just feels like getting this off my chest. XD

Today, when I was driving to work, a police officer stopped me and asked if I speak any Japanese. I assume he did that because he saw through the windshield that I am Asian. There were police cars and firetrucks blocking a lane next to a gas station. I assume something must have happened and someone needed help with their language barrier. Unfortunately, I was on my way to work, and even after years of studying (but lack practice), my Japanese level is at best between N4 and N3. I was in no position to help anybody. I simply said no, and he let me drive away.

Damn. I still feel embarrassed because helping those with language barrier was one of many reasons I studied foreign languages. And yet, with a perfect opportunity, I couldn't do anything. But I was also afraid to just waste everyone's time and get in their way as well. Man... XP

Anyone here confident in their Japanese skills enough that you would have said yes to help in this situation? I am guessing you better be around N2 level to be of any help, right?
by N3 Noob. (guest)  

Re: Are you confident interpreting for police? 2019/5/21 11:52
「Anyone here confident in their Japanese skills enough that you would have said yes to help in this situation? I am guessing you better be around N2 level to be of any help, right?」