Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Contract for Private High School instructors? 2019/5/24 20:24
I have juts been approached by a Private High School and they offered me a very shady contract.
I have tried looking for standards for Langauge teachers in Private High Schools but havent had any luck.
It's not an ALT role. I would have solo 45min classes, 3 to 4 a day and be responsible for curriculum development and grading. School vacations are still work days and every 2nd saturday is also a work day.
I have my Masters in Applied Linguistics and more that 10 years teaching experience.
I was shocked when they offered me 420 0000yen a year (350000yen per month) for so much work and responsibilty.
Insurance included but no travel expenses reimbursment. In addition the contract is UNCHANGING for 5 years! What kind of contracts are out there? Is anyone is a Private High School position and can help tell me what the standard is?
Thanks in advance, I look forward to your advice.
by Pomper (guest)  

Re: Contract for Private High School instructors? 2019/5/25 13:53
Are you currently in Japan working as ALT or Eikaiwa instructor ?
Do you know/understand the 'English Teaching' scene in Japan?
Is it a full time work contract?
The remuneration seems OK though, what is your working hours like?
Will you be paid overtime?
Insurance paid as in employee's health/pension ?
Will you be in the Private School Mutual Aid?
<https://www.shigakukyosai.jp/en/about/about01.html>;

Few things to point out
School vacations are still work days
Of course it is consider as working days.
As a working adult, you are allocated certain number of paid holidays, public holidays and some other designated holiday (depending on the institution/contract).
Full time JET/direct hire ALT work during school vacation.