Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Shimbashi or Nihombashi? 2019/6/5 08:40
Hi!

I'm currently booked for my last night in Japan in a new hotel near Shimbashi Station. I'm spending 3 nights prior to my northern excursion in a different hotel in Nihombashi. That other hotel was originally considerably more for my last night but is now a little bit cheaper. Should I switch? I have an early morning (10:45 am) flight out of Haneda, which I've never used before. (Assuming that doesn't get changed last minute..)

The plus of moving back to the hotel I was staying at originally, is they probably will be willing to hold my larger bag for the 3 nights I am traveling in Northern Japan, so I wouldn't need to takyuubin it to the airport and worry about having the time to get it. I could also pack it with last minute goodies my final night. I've also previously stayed at the chain and I know I like the mattresses, though this particular branch was not open last trip.

The plus of the new hotel is it's super close to Shimbashi Station and my trip to Haneda, the room seems quite large for the money and it's a chance to try a new hotel.

(For those curious, it's the Mitsui Nihombashi Premier vs. the new Ginza Karasaka, the free breakfast at the Karasaka is not a plus, we're not going to eat much of it.)

Thanks!
by rkold  

Re: Shimbashi or Nihombashi? 2019/6/5 10:07
Shimbashi has a direct, no transfers train to Haneda (Tokyo International Airport), but that is also true of Nihombashi.
You could send you luggage to the hotel with the three day delay so you do not have to collect it at Haneda, and not have it with you on your northern excursion.
I've stayed in Shimbashi a few times and been in the area a bit over the last year and it is a nice neighbourhood.