Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Best way to travel in Kyushu? 2019/6/10 00:16
Hi :) its my first time to Kyushu . Ifm having a dilemma now regarding which mode of transport should i use. Ifll be spend 13 days in Kyushu . I will arrive in fukuoka airport but will stay in oita for 2 night then to Miyazaki for 2 nights, Kagoshima 2 nights and Nagasaki for 2 nights before i will spend 4 nights in Fukuoka . I thought of rent a car 10 days . And return the car on my 2nd day in Fukuoka . Will that be a good idea to travel ? Or will taking the train to travel around Kyushu . Ifm afraid of the difficulties to find parking lots etc etc . Please advice :( thank you so much .
by Key (guest)  

Re: Best way to travel in Kyushu? 2019/6/10 14:41
It really depends on where you are going. You just mention cities, and for that, trains and buses are often fine. There are 3 and 5-day JR Kyushu Passes for example, as well as Sun-Q bus passes.
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2361_05.html
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2357_014.html
There are many great places in Kyushu though - and many are not easily reached with trains or buses, if at all.
https://goo.gl/Q843Bg
So driving can be a good way to get around, assuming you are up to driving in Japan in the first place (Japanese traffic laws, signs, etc). Parking can be hard in cities (though Tokyo, Osaka etc are naturally far worse), plus there is fuel which is not cheap. Expressways can be pricey and slow (there are speed traps all over the place, though some navi systems will tell you where they are). A Kyushu Expressway Pass is one way to get around for less money.
http://global.w-nexco.co.jp/en/kep/