Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Looking at Moving to Japan with partner 2019/6/21 04:19
I have been looking on the internet for information but for somethings it is quite confusing, my scenario is below.

Me and my partner are looking at moving to Japan within the next few years as we have previously visited and love everything about it. We are looking for a new experience and a break from the UK.

I am a Science Teacher and have been for 4 years in the UK. I have a bachelor's degree and my PGCE. I know that I would probably be able to get a position teaching science in an international school and they offer packages and support with Visas etc.

My partner is an IT technician who works for the same school as I do but doesn't have a degree as he completed an apprenticeship and has worked in this role for almost 5 years. I do believe there is a limit to how many hours you can work without a bachelor's degree.

I just wondered if anyone has any advice to offer on the following:

If I could get a position working within a school would my partner be able to come with me?
If there is a maximum number of working hours, would I be able to support both of us on the wage we would get?
Is there anywhere we could go to get more advice or speak to someone about relocating to Japan?
If we liked living there would be eventually be able to get permanent residency?
And any other information would be much appreciated.

Thanks for your help, it is very much appreciated.

by JVX428  

Re: Looking at Moving to Japan with partner 2019/6/21 12:23