Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How accessible is Japan? 2019/7/12 19:09
I am a new travel writer that was born disabled, I use a crutch to walk but for longer distances I use a wheelchair. I am trying to show how accessible the places I travel to so I would like to know how accessible Japan is and how many disabled people actually live there? Thank you.
by superanimegal91391  

Re: How accessible is Japan? 2019/7/13 11:12
Read this article, if you have not already: https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2301.html

Accessibility in Japan is improving, but not as accessible as in the US. If using crutches, you need to be very careful during rush hours, people might accidentally run into you or kick your crutches. It is that crowded and people are really in rush, in cities.

by Ginger (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: How accessible is Japan? 2019/7/13 11:44
Quite a lot of info here https://www.accessible-japan.com/
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: How accessible is Japan? 2019/7/13 11:50
by ... (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: How accessible is Japan? 2019/7/13 22:04
I think that everything in the larger cities or close to trainbstations is quite accessible but you will need your wheelchair. Distances in the underground metro stations can be quite a stretch when walking and even more so if you are depending on elevators, which usually require a detour to get to.
by WJ (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: How accessible is Japan? 2019/7/14 01:11
I suffered an injury on holiday in Japan and spent a couple of weeks there with a fracture and a walking stick.