Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Where/how does one get the flu vaccine? 2019/10/28 15:23
I'm an exchange student who came to Japan at the beginning of this month for a year's study. When I'm at home in the UK I make a point of getting the flu vaccination every year, and I want to get it here as well, especially as I intend to travel in winter and will therefore be coming into contact with a lot of people in peak season. In the UK, I'm used to just walking into a pharmacy (drugstore), making an appointment and getting it a few days later, but obviously healthcare works really differently here, so I don't know where to get it and there doesn't seem to be any information from Google in English. I am registered with my university health centre, so is it there that I should go to ask about it? What is the procedure for enquiring? It's silly but I'm scared of walking into the wrong place and making a fool of myself. Any advice would be much appreciated.
by Julia (guest)  

Re: Where/how does one get the flu vaccine? 2019/10/28 19:42
I'd say your university health center would be the first place to enquire. Some companies offer flu vaccinations to all their employees, so there might be something similar at your university as well. Otherwise they'll be able to tell you who to contact. Likely a doctor.

Flu vaccination is very common practice in Japan, so you should not have a problem finding a place.

And regarding "looking stupid", well, you are here to learn. You are not expected to know everything about Japanese flu vaccination practice. So just ask. It's not a stupid question.

Enjoy your exchange year!
by LikeBike (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Where/how does one get the flu vaccine? 2019/10/28 20:17