Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Author getting Artist Visa? 2019/12/3 08:50
So, let me give a bit of context.

I am an aspiring author, I’m working on a book that I would love to get formally published, and will be looking for a literary agent in America and hoping to get one that will try to sell the book to a publishing firm there.

This means I won’t have a sponsor company in Japan but in America, and I would like to know if it is possible to get the Artist Visa with a sponsor company in america or just in a country other than Japan in general?

Of course I don’t expect to get it with only a single book if it is possible, I’d expect they would only really consider it if I can earn enough from the Royalties and the advances as well as having the evidence for them.

This is mostly just for my own curiosity and thank you for any answers in advance.
by Lasarus  

Re: Author getting Artist Visa? 2019/12/3 09:06
You need to have a reason for being in Japan - why do you have to work as an author from within Japan?
by / (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Author getting Artist Visa? 2019/12/3 09:08
Nope, not happening.
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Author getting Artist Visa? 2019/12/3 09:13
You can however visit for up to 90 days being a USA citizen. Travel to another country and return to Japan again and begin the 90 days again.
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Author getting Artist Visa? 2019/12/3 12:21
At the risk of assuming too much, it sounds like you might be a little confused as to what a work visa is. Work visas aren't issued just because someone has a source of income, but are issued specifically to allow a person to engage in a specific type of business activity within the country.