Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Visa sponsorship 2019/12/13 21:29
Hello,

I have a few questions regarding visa sponsorship, and hopefully this will help for any others searching for this question in the future. I have found posts regarding this subject, but I am still uncertain about this.

I am a student in Japan who is applying for jobs (with one potentially willing to hire me). Some fellow students and I are searching on job websites such as the gaijinpot and we keep coming across job postings that specifically require a valid working visa already or that they do not offer visa sponsorships. Anyways, this has involved a lot of yelling at the computer screen and searching to no avail for answers to this specific situation.

So, here's goes with the questions...

Specifically, what is the visa sponsorship needed for?
-Certain wordings of various sources make the term "sponsorship" cloudy, in my opinion. I am fully aware that my school was my sponsor for my COE and my student visa. I am assuming that if I want to work after graduating, I need the "sponsor" just to change to a work visa? Is the "sponsor" required for renewing the visa (this ties into the question below)? It's weird because a lot of people are saying get an easy sponsorship for the working visa and then change jobs (hopefully within a reasonable amount of time and within the same scope). Then, from that point on, your new company becomes your sponsor?

Why do some of those jobs not offer visa sponsorships?