Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How to learn to read handwritten Kanji 2019/12/20 10:05
Hello,

I work in a Japanese company and my Japanese is somewhere close to business Japanese. I am still studying Kanji, but manage to be able to read most of them in the field I am working for. My problem is that every time a colleague pass me a note he wrote, I cannot read anything, even the words and Kanji I have normally no problem reading in printed form. When I ask another co-worker he has no trouble at all reading it and it is quite embarrassing for me. The thing is even after he told me what it is, it is really hard for me to see the similarities between the printed and handwritten Kanji. I know that Japanese tend to make shortcuts wherever they can when writing Kanjis, but it is completely a mystery how another Japanese person has no problems to read it.

Do foreigners who are nearly perfect at Japanese still have problems to read handwritten Kanji as well? and does anyone have some tips how to learn to be able to read handwritten Kanji?
by City Hunter (guest)  

Re: How to learn to read handwritten Kanji 2019/12/20 10:37
My non-Japanese husband, who reads the local newspaper every day and does translation (from Japanese) as profession, cannot decipher my handwriting unless I write it really big and clear, and declines work requests for handwritten faxed notes for example.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: How to learn to read handwritten Kanji 2019/12/20 10:43