Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Could I live and work in Japan with an N1? 2019/12/27 20:28
Hi all,

I've just turned 37 and really want to experience something different in my life. I've had a life long love of Japan and have visited many times, I don't have a degree which is usually what is needed to get into Japan, but this is mainly to teach English, and at the age I'd be when I got a degree (around 40) I'm not sure this would be the best career path for me.

I'm currently an Escalation Manager, so I have customer service and business experience, would this sort of skillset be desirable in Japan without a degree if I had my N1 as a native English speaker? Or would I still need a degree regardless?

Just trying to figure out the best way to spend the next 3-5 years of my life to gain what I need to hopefully make the move. I have the funds to hire private tuition in Japanese so I feel like 4-5 years is an obtainable goal if I study 25 hours a week

Thanks!
by SushiJunkie  

Re: Could I live and work in Japan with an N1? 2019/12/28 07:53
in order to work in Japan you need a visa. There are many different visa categories, some require a university graduation others don't. However those other ones, e.g. for chefs have other requirements.

https://www.mofa.go.jp/j_info/visit/visa/long/index.html

So first read up carefully about the different visas and if there is a visa category under which you could find a job without a graduating from university.
I am not a great visa expert, but seeing that your experience is more in business I fear that you'll need a university degree.