Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 23

1 2
next

Advice For Tattoo Artist Moving To Japan 2020/1/22 20:00
Hi again, I am a licensed tattoo artist working in the US, my mentor is Japanese and taught me everything I know, he and I plan to move to Japan to pursue our craft and live in the country where our industry was born, the best of the best live here. Despite what I just said, Japan is one of the worst places to live as a tattoo artist. Ifm making this thread to ask for advice from anyone else to has walked the path we are treading.

What information would you like to have known at the very beginning that would help us. It is a difficult path but we are not doing it because itfs easy or a good way to make money, we are doing this because we are dedicated to our craft. One day tattooing will finally be accepted in Japan, but it will come later rather than soon if people do not push the industry forward. This is a serious inquiry, if you only came here to criticize our line of work, do not bother replying to this thread. Letfs keep this civil please.
by IrezumiTengu  

Re: Advice For Tattoo Artist Moving To Japan 2020/1/23 11:46
Hi there

Are you planning to work in Japan as a tattoo artist?

I think it may be difficult to obtain a visa for this as it doesn't fit into one of the many work visa categories. The closest one i can think of is artist visa but tattoo artist isn't in there as one of their examples, it's normally for things like fine arts and photography.

How many years work experience do you have within tattoo artistry? Do you have a bachelors degree?
If you don't have a degree or if you're relatively new in the industry it may be difficult to push for a visa.