Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Day trip from Tokyo in March 2020/1/28 03:57
Hello. I'm trying to decide on a day trip from Tokyo around March 26. It's my first time in Japan, and my itinerary includes 1 week in Tokyo, 1 week travelling across the country with a JR Pass, and then 1 week in Osaka-Kyoto. I have one spare day in Tokyo, during which I'd like to visit a place in the surrounding area.

Nikko and Enoshima-Kamakura are already in my itinerary. I'm currently considering Fuji Five Lakes and Hakone, but I'm not sure whether the timing is good to visit either of these places. Seems that it might be a bit early for seeing the postcard scenery in Fuji Five Lakes, and the scenic train and cable car in Hakone are both out of service right now. Also, because the date is fixed, I don't have the option to pick the day to go when the weather is good.

I'm looking for suggestions on what might be a good day trip from Tokyo in late March. Should I visit Fuji Five Lakes or Hakone, or is there a better alternative?

Thanks in advance!
by hyknt  

Re: Day trip from Tokyo in March 2020/1/28 09:34
Are you interested in gardens? Kairakuen has their plum blossom festival on at that time.
https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e6201.html
If you like mountains and nature there's a few close to Tokyo such as Takaosan and Nokogiriyama.
Are you also visiting Yokohama? There's plenty to do down there, including Chinatown, ramen, rollercoasters....

Your interests will be best to guide your choice.
by Sal1980 rate this post as useful

Re: Day trip from Tokyo in March 2020/1/28 09:56
Seconding Kairakuen in Mito!

I'm going for the start of the festival in February and would love to be able to go in March again because the ume is better then than February, but March is not an option for us.