Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Backpacking the Michinoku Coastal Trail 2020/3/23 05:25
Hi everyone!

I am planning a trip to Japan this year and recently I found out about the Michinoku Coastal Trail from this website: https://www.michinokutrail.com/. I fell in love with the idea of hiking the trail with a tent, but I have some doubts that I would like to clear before making my final decision. I contacted the aformentioned website's owner who hiked the trail, but I unfortunately haven't got any response so far :-(

Firstly, let me give you some information that I believe are relevant:
1. I plan on hiking the trail for 2-3 weeks between mid September and mid October, beginning in Hachinohe. I don't have any specific dates settled.
2. I started learning Japanese a year ago, so by the time I hike the trail my Japanese will still be lousy. I am not sure if I will be able to cover everything at JLPT N5 level by then.

On to the questions, shall we?
1. I am a bit afraid of the weather. I studied last year's weather conditions in Tohoku in September and October and it seems like it can get pretty cold at night and it might rain a lot, especially in September. My biggest fear is that I will get soaked and there won't be any place to dry off my clothes.
2. I read that the region is not a popular tourist destination. Because of this I imagine few people will speak conversational English and my Japanese will be not good enough for most things. Could this be a problem? Of course if there is Internet access, I can use a translator, although:
a) there might not be an Internet connection at some places
b) using a translator all the time is annoying, especially to the person you are talking with