Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can a underage teenager go to Tokyo alone? 2020/4/14 02:55
Hi, I am a 14y/o highschool boy planning travel to Japan alone this autumn. My parents allowed me (as I am an excellent student & responsible child), they will only give me money and I have to do everything else by myself. Is the minimum age to travel alone 14, 15, 16 or even 17? I can read and speak basic Japanese.
by trvl_jpn_undrg (guest)  

Re: Can a underage teenager go to Tokyo alone? 2020/4/14 07:59
I don't think there would be much of a problem getting in the country, but you would have a very hard time getting a hotel room or lodging by yourself as a 14 year old. If you had friends or relatives to stay with it would be OK.
by QFD (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Can a underage teenager go to Tokyo alone? 2020/4/14 11:29
As a minor, you won't be able to get a hotel room by yourself in Japan. So while you may be able to travel to Tokyo, you won't be able to sleep.
by . . . . (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Can a underage teenager go to Tokyo alone? 2020/4/14 13:06
I think 14 might be the lower limit for a Junior Youth Hostel Membership. If you get an International YH membership card, you should be able to stay in the youth hostels. The "Junior" range varies per home country so you'd have to check into that. Some hostels also have their own age limits, so you'd have to check that also. IYH members would be the places that recognize the card. There are also a lot of private hostels that are not members who may follow hotel rules.
by Anaguma (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Can a underage teenager go to Tokyo alone? 2020/4/14 15:39
I believe that even for airlines, this would need to be worked out in advance; see the following for example (just an arbitrary choice of airline):