Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can a fictional character be a Kami? 2020/4/22 01:25
I have followed Shintō traditions for many years but I’ve never actually asked many questions, this last week a friend from Europe brought up a very interesting question. Can a fictional character be a Kami? And can you make up your own Kami?

I don’t know the answers to either of these personally and I don’t want to act like I’m a professional, does anyone have a good answer for these questions?
by そらぞう (guest)  

Re: Can a fictional character be a Kami? 2020/4/22 10:20
Like, within the context of a fictional work? Sure - when you're writing fiction, you can do whatever you want. No different than writing a story where a fictional character is an angel or you make up a new god to be part of the ancient Greek pantheon.

But do you mean "Can a fictional character become recognize by real-life Japanese Shinto worshipers as a kami?" or "Do real-life Shinto worshipers in Japan make up their own kami?" then the answer is no.
by . . . . (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Can a fictional character be a Kami? 2020/4/22 13:18
That's the same thing as asking, "Can Thor be a god? And can you make up your own god?"
by Uco rate this post as useful

Re: Can a fictional character be a Kami? 2020/4/22 19:53
Can one assign a specific thing to a deity? I am sure there was no kami for "road safety" but there is now. So can things be assigned to kami that weren't their domain?
by . (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Can a fictional character be a Kami? 2020/4/23 10:59
「Can one assign a specific thing to a deity? I am sure there was no kami for "road safety" but there is now. So can things be assigned to kami that weren't their domain?」