Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Tokyo immigration 2020/5/6 02:58
Hello,

It's my first time applying renew visa in tokyo.
I heard some bad things about tokyo's immigration.
Are they really rude and heartless?

by smoothie (guest)  

Re: Tokyo immigration 2020/5/6 12:23
I've never been to your specific ward's immigration office - but I've never heard them as being rude and heartless.

They have specific regulations to follow - so they follow the regulations given to them. To put it simple - if the law states that you can't renew your visa because of <<insert rule here>>, crying and being upset won't change their minds. The choice to renew visas are not decided by them - but by the criteria given to them.

If you have your paperwork and everything in order - it will probably be quick, painless and efficient.
by mfedley rate this post as useful

Re: Tokyo immigration 2020/5/6 14:44
So you are in Tokyo, and you are going to the Tokyo Immigration office in Shinagawa to renew/extend your resident status?
Then as far as I know, they have become quite friendly and courteous over the years. They are not grude and heartlessh at all. Just be ready with the required documents, then it will be no hassle at all. (Ifve been there many times with my spouse.)

By the way, if your resident status is expiring in May or June, due to COVID-19, they are allowing people to apply later for renewal/extension so as to reduce congestion at the immigration office:
http://www.moj.go.jp/content/001316300.pdf

Check for updates here:
http://www.moj.go.jp/EN/nyuukokukanri/kouhou/m_nyuukokukanri01_00003.h...

by AK rate this post as useful

Re: Tokyo immigration 2020/5/6 23:30
their decision has made as governmental organization, not by one officer.
there is a guideline to issue visa and resident status.