Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Where to stay in Tohoku for each attaction 2020/6/29 22:29
Hello all,

This is my first time planning a trip to Tohoku and I am really confused on where I should set up "base camp" and do day trips out off for each cluster of attractions.

Below I have listed the location I plan on staying in bold, and below each of these bold-ed locations are the day trips I plan on doing. As of now, I only plan on using public transport. Day to day activities that is NOT a day trip is not listed.

As of now, the plan is to travel in this order

Tokyo > Fukushima > Yamagata > Akita > Hirosaki > Aomori > Hiraizumi > Sendai

Fukushima
Aizuwakamatsu
Ouchi-juku
Oze National Park

Yamagata
Yamadera
Hojuzan Risshaku Temple
Zao Onsen Dairotenburo
Ginzan Onsen
Dewasanzan Shrine

Akita
Hachimantai
Tamagawa Hot Spring

Hirosaki
Shiragamisanchi

Aomori
Oirase Gorge
Tsuta Onsen
Sukayu Onsen
Mount Hakkoda

Hiraizumi
Geibikei

Sendai
Matsushima Bay
Tashirojima Island

----------

would you recommend me to stay in these towns to do these day trips? Or would you suggest I streamline the locations I will be staying at and do day trips out of fewer locations.

for exmaple, not staying at Yamagata and hiraizumi but instead doing day trips to those locations from Sendai.

---------

thank you!

by Cisyo  

Re: Where to stay in Tohoku for each attaction 2020/6/30 10:06
Stay atthe town/city you have made bold.

Yamadera can be done from Sendai. But all the others are not day trips from other locations.
by H (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Where to stay in Tohoku for each attaction 2020/6/30 12:28
I think you need to add even more places where to stay, because outside the Shinkansen network transport in Tohoku is slow. By public transport but also by car.