Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

3 month rule with license renewal date 2020/6/30 11:20
Hello,

I am in a bit of a pickle and any help would be greatly appreciated.

In short, I am wondering if I can use an old license (NOT expired, but not usable to drive as it had a hole punched in it when I was issued a newer license) in order to establish that I had been driving in my home country (America) for at least 3 months prior to moving to Japan.

I moved to Japan in the same month that I changed my state of residence in my home country, so I was forced to renew my license at the same time. The license I currently have therefore says that it was issued the same month that I arrived in Japan.

I knew this would be an issue due to the 3 month rule, so had prepared to get a driving history from my DMV, showing that I've been driving for 14 years. However, there was an issue with the online form I applied for back at the end of March, because it only would show my driving history in that state under my married name, not including my maiden name record in that state (the only driving history in that state after being married is from the date of issue on the license I already have-- from the month I left). I spoke with a DMV staff member online, and they told me that in order to get a driving record with my full history in that state, including prior to being married, I would need to get an official record through the mail. However, their office has been closed to "non-priority requests" since early April and still is not open, so I can't do that.