Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can I work as a teacher in Japan? Chances? 2020/9/10 10:40
Hey!

I (a German) am currently studying at a university in Germany to become a teacher for junior high schools. My subjects are German and English.

My wife is Japanese and maybe we will live in Japan later. But my question is: Are there any chances for me to work as a German and/or English teacher at a school in Japan? I heard that Japanese schools are looking for foreign teachers, at least for language subjects. But is that true?
by EducationJPDE (guest)  

Re: Can I work as a teacher in Japan? Chances? 2020/9/11 00:08
Maybe?

The question is what is your Japanese like? Outside of foreigners on the JET Program, the expectation for those working in an actual Japanese public or private school is that they are fluent in Japanese as well as the language they are teaching because they need their Japanese skills to communicate with the administration and the rest of the teachers.

Assuming you can get a spouse Visa through your wife that would certainly help you since you can apply for a job while within Japan and the school will not need to sponsor you or bring you to Japan.

I would think unless you are completely fluent in English your chances of getting into the JET Program are low and even then it can be hard. The program is very competitive because a lot of people want to live in Japan. You do not have a choice in your JET School assignment and unless you just want to live in Japan and have no preference to where, you should not even consider this route.