Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How to set up a chocolate project in Sapporo 2020/9/17 08:39
Hello everyone,

My name is Tim, a Belgian guy in his mid thirties. I have a degree in chemistry, with a passion for Belgian chocolate. I have traveled to Japan 6 times, however my level of Japanese is barely N5. From January until March I was in Tokyo creating and selling my own pieces of specialty chocolate. This was a test phase. Good choice in hindsight with corona breaking loose. I had a partnership with a Japanese friend who had the status of self employed, for me nothing was official, as a testphase towards tastes, packaging, pop up stores is was a perfect construction for me.
Test went well, learned a lot, but couldn't make any further plans because of corona insecurities.
However I still want to unfold those chocolate dreams, I have set the date of early 2022 for myself. For various reasons I will choose Sapporo as base. I will enroll in a language school, with a student visa, to improve that beautiful language, and the visa gives me access to a work permit.
My question is twofold.
I would like to partner up again with someone local, at least someone with a (near)native understanding of the language. Anyone aware of a forum/site where I could find someone interested, someone from the Sapporo area?
Also, I know the work permit allowes me 28h work/week, but it is very difficult to find info on the possibility of starting something myself, or in partnership.
Anyone who can push me in the right direction?
Thanks everyone in advance for their time.
by Chocoprins  

Re: How to set up a chocolate project in Sapporo 2020/9/17 19:02