Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

New internal rail pass; residence card okay? 2020/10/17 17:21
I recently mailed off my passport to be renewed, so I cannot show my passport when purchasing this pass. Is a valid, current residence card acceptable? The gaijin card indicates my nationality (not Japanese), and that I am a legal resident of Japan. Thus, I feel it should be official enough to show to the train station staff when purchasing the pass.

Has anyone tried this? Please let me know.
by Ingrid (guest)  

Re: New internal rail pass; residence card okay? 2020/10/18 22:29
Japan has thousands of rail pass.
Can you tell the name of rail pass?
Is it nationwide JR pass ?
If you residents of Japan, you can't buy JR nationwide pass.
by Jia (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: New internal rail pass; residence card okay? 2020/10/18 22:31
Itfs the newest rail pass, gWelcome to Japanh; first went on sale 16 October 2020. I know itfs open to international tourists AND non-Japanese residents, but Ifm concerned that official residence cards may not be accepted, only passports. So I wanted to know if anyone has purchased it with their gaijin card.
by Ingrid (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: New internal rail pass; residence card okay? 2020/10/18 23:02
https://www.jreast.co.jp/multi/pass/welcomerailpass.html?src=gnavi

It states to "present your passport".... They're usually very much sticklers for that. No passport, no pass.
by . (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: New internal rail pass; residence card okay? 2020/10/19 02:42
Unless it the official guidance (which I guess you've already read) states explicitly that your gaijin card is/isn't an acceptable form of ID I guess there is no way to know yet since the pass has only been on sale for three days. I guess you could try?