Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

What is considered a jumpy CV in Japan? 2020/10/22 07:32
I wish to move to Japan in a few years, and I am just wondering if my CV would look "jumpy" in Japan?

I worked as a contractor for 4.5 years (during which I worked at 2 corporations), and then continued working at the last company of the two for a further year as a permanent employee; so in effect was on the "same path" for about 5.5 years.

I have recently left that last company and have joined a new company which I plan on staying at for 3 years before looking for work in Japan.

Does this sound OK or a bit Jumpy to a japan company? What about to an international company (like Amazon, Google, etc)?

Also my friend is thinking of moving to Japan too, but he has a very jumpy CV, like 5 years worth of jumping around jobs, staying at each company for between 1-1.5 years and has a lot of gaps in his CV. How would this be perceived?
by Jonzeh  

Re: What is considered a jumpy CV in Japan? 2020/10/22 10:02
Yours sound fine. Your friendfs might look gjumpy,h but it all depends on what kind of specialized skills you have and what kind of career progression you have been making.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: What is considered a jumpy CV in Japan? 2020/10/22 14:28
I would agree with @AKs opinion.

Just a bit of background. I am currently trying to hire a Project manager in Japan and jumpy CVs (and lack of experience) are the two main obstacles to even get invited for an interview.

HR is very conservative about jumpy CVs. More so than HR in Europe and muuuuuch more than US HR.