Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Instructor Visa vs WHV advice 2021/1/10 00:38
Hi,

I am crossed in what to do and would appreciate some advice as I am totally ignorant about Japan's job market.

I have a degree in East Asian Studies and a MA in Japanese Studies (the former was English-taught). I did a teaching internship in Japan some years ago and totally loved the experience, I've been working on my teaching experience since then (teaching English at a cram school for 1.5 years). I'm not a native speaker. I speak fluent English (C1, taking the C2 exam in March), Spanish (native), Italian, and some Japanese (I failed the N2 for a few points and I'm studying to retake it).

I would like to go to Japan, work for a few years while I improve my Japanese and hopefully find a job in interpretation or international trade once my Japanese is good enough. I got a job with Heart and already have my COE for an instructor visa, I thought I needed 12 years of education in English(all subjects) but just proving that I'd studied English as a subject for 12 years was enough.

Tbh, I accepted their offer just out of desperation after being rejected by so many companies. I've never had problems finding teaching jobs in my country despite not being native. But now that the departing time is approaching and with all their bad reviews online (plus a friend at the Japanese Labour Ministry noticed that they've made me signed a potentially illegal agreement), I am trying to think of alternatives.

Would I have any chances to find a job with a WHV and getting sponsored for a work visa after the first year? Should I just stick with Heart for a year to keep my instructor visa? Will that give me more chances to find a better teaching job than a WHV?