Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Income tax refund 2021/2/2 14:03
I have been living in Japan. I work in multiple places.

Job1: One is my stable job where I work 3 days a week (24 hours/week). I receive salary in bank as "salary". For 2020, they sent me withholding slip for the year. I am a proper employee and work at the office.

Job2: I am a student and work in university as well. However, I heard that school related work in not counted under 28 hours, I thus work around 4 hours a week there. The salary I receive is as "salary". They sent me withholding slip for 2020. I only work for about 3 months (4 hours a week) in a year.

Job3: I work with two organizations on contract basis, which means if they have work they ask me if I am free and then I sometimes work. This is not regular. So some month could be 10-20 hours/month and others could be 0 hours/month. For one organization the money I receive in my bank is as "salary" for the next it is transferred as "remittance". They did not send me withholding slip for 2020.

Job4: I also work for a professor at a university who pays me some money based on the work I do for him. This is home based work. I work around 30 hours/ month. The money I receive is as "Transfer". He did not send me withholding slip for 2020.

Job5: I work freelance as a english teacher. This is not regular. I earn about 1-2 hour in a month or so. Some months are without work.

For 2 month in January, I received scholarship amount from the university.

On an average, my income is 170,000\ a month.
I have a dependent as well whose has no income.
I received a income tax return form from my ward office in mid-January.

Question:
1. Does the work I do on contract basis (Job 3) counts under the 28 hour work limit. How about job 4?

2. In the income tax return form,