Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Best resources/way to learn Japenese? 2021/5/1 12:47
I'm currently a high school student, planning to go to college in Japan, and continue to live there for the rest of my life. I've heard that I should learn as much as I can before then, and I was wondering if anyone could help with that? (I don't mean teach me I mean help me figure out where to get started.) Any links to online courses (preferably not anything too expensive), a textbook you think everyone should begin with, a website you can start at any level on, a workbook with the proper way to write in Japanese. I've also heard you should refrain from learning romaji, so maybe something without that. Anything would be a great help, but I'm also trying to learn this on my own, so hopefully something more suited for that. Thank you!
by Alice (guest)  

Re: Best resources/way to learn Japenese? 2021/5/2 09:09
Tae Kim's guide is a free online grammar course. It is an acquired taste, but fairly complete for a beginner course. Anki is a free flashcard app for your computer, you can use it with downloadable shared decks of cards to memorise vocabulary (Core 10k is a good deck). YouTube is now an excellent resource. Channels such as 日本語の森 and Japanese Ammo with Misa are recommended. HelloTalk is a free app for your phone which can connect you to Japanese people for language exchange.

Hope this helps.
by LIZ (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Best resources/way to learn Japenese? 2021/5/2 14:03
Regarding text books for learning kanji, I would suggest the ones using Heisig’s method. It is a systematic study method aimed at people who want to learn all kanji in a systematic and easy to remember way, rather than learning them as Japanese children learn them by occurrence.