Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Email usage in Japan 2021/7/7 16:42
Hello everybody!

I'm currently doing a study on workplace communication patterns across different cultures. I found out that Line is actually a very popular messaging platform in Japan. Do many people also use Line to communicate with their co-workers or is it mostly used to communicate with friends/ families? In where I live, Whatsapp is actually used very often in workplaces so im not sure if this applies in Japan (in the case of Line).

Any insights will be super helpful for me!
by Steve Yong  

Re: Email usage in Japan 2021/7/7 22:41
Hi Steve

I work in a restaurant in Japan and my boss has us all in a LINE group and he communicates our shifts for the week and any news we need to be aware of through that

I don't know if this is what you were interested in as I don't work for a big corporate company, just a small restaurant job but I hope it's helpful in some way
by Shelly (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Email usage in Japan 2021/7/8 00:17
Hi,

I think it totally depends on what specific job you do, rather than the country. It also depends on the individual to a certain extent.

I've been doing the same job (translator) for decades, often with individuals of various ages or corporates in various continents as well as Japan, and no one has ever asked me for a Line account. I don't even have a smartphone. About once or twice a year, I'd text short messages (SMS) on my mobile phone if I have to. Other than that, all business communication and occasional lunch appointments with co-workers are done through email on my computer, if not by phone or face-to-face conversation.