Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Kyushu Itinerary March 2022, possible? 2021/7/14 18:19
Hi all,

Finally convinced my BF to go with me to Japan and I am soo excited to go. Since I wanted to see the Island of Kyushu this time and he will be in Japan for the first time I made a combination trip of the must-see sights when in Japan and Kyushu. However, since this is my first time to Kyushu I was wondering what you guys think about my itinerary and if there is a day in my itinerary which will be impossible to do beforehand. I want to try and plan this trip so I can visit Kyushu do some Hanami somewhere in the Kyoto-Tokyo week.
Please comment on as much as you like :)

Day:
1- Flight - Kagoshima Airport - Visit some Kagoshima like Shiroyama park+lookout and sengen-an garden. Other sights will be a bonus.
2-Yakushima early ferry - Hike the Shiratani Unsui Gorge - Stay at Yakushima
3-Yakushima Jomonsugi Trail (is it really worth it? Read that it is a long walk on rails before seeing the good part, the Jomonsugi. Other suggestions for a day trail?)- Stay at Yakushima
4-Yakushima early ferry to Kagoshima or Ibusuki - Pick up rental car. -Do Sand bath and some exploring peninsula if time in the morning. Head to Sakurajima in the afternoon - Drive and sleep to Kirishima
5-Kirishima Ridge Trail
6-Kirishima Takachiho no mine trail + some sights if time, Ryumon falls, wake shrine, kirishima jingu, maruo falls
7-Nichinan Coastal Drive - From Kirishima via Sekinoofalls - Visit Obi town - Udo Jingu, Sun Messe, Enjoy some beach?, Aoshima Shrine and Devil's Washboard - Sleep at Sukimuland. (Will I have time for Obi? I really want to see Udo Jingu, is there anything which might be worth dropping if time is limited?)