Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japan in the 90s 2021/8/27 14:49
Hey, so I'm an anime fanfic writer. The setting of my current story is set in the 90s. The characters are in their teens.

It would really help if anyone can describe what it's like living in the 90s as a teenager in Japan. The typical habits of teenagers, their usual past-time hobbies, where they eat or hang out. What's the favorite street foods back then? Their clothes and style, like accessories and hairstytles. The gadgets (do they even use phones then?). Who were the top celebrities (local and international). Things that are probably nostalgic to some. Basically the culture back then. Maybe there's a difference between then and now? Or maybe not too much?
by guest (guest)  

Re: Japan in the 90s 2021/8/27 19:12
do they even use phones then?
If you mean 'Were ショルダーフォン (the first generation of mobile phone) still used in 90s in Japan?', answer is yes but till early 90s and not many people had it. ポケベル became popular among many people in mid 90s then PHS and mobile phone became general till late 90s. In addition, Japan's mobile phone had already function of Internet access in 1999, although it is different from today's smart phone.

For fashion, I think those key words help you.
ルーズソックス
アムラー
by Asiansenior (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Japan in the 90s 2021/8/27 19:53
"ポケベル became popular among many people in mid 90s"
Yes, the pocket bells! Thank you for the confirmation.
by guest (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Japan in the 90s 2021/9/12 18:49
Some things to research - Loose socks, Baby G watches, Telephone Booths, Kiosks at train stations, low level yakuza wearing bright gaudy colored suits...
by Dunit (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Japan in the 90s 2021/9/15 11:25
Thank you. I will.