Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Immigration to Japan - options 2021/9/9 09:18
I want to move to Japan for work or study. I’ve been running different scenarios in my head and would like some advice on what to do or is this just crazy talk.

Some background, I’m in mid 30s. I’ve been working as a software engineer for about 15 years. I also have two degrees – BEng in Electronics and BSc in Computer Science.

Option 1: I thought of taking 1 year sabbatical and going to Japan on a language study and then either move back to the states, Europe, or try to stay in Japan depending on how that goes.

Option 2: I can try to apply for a master’s degree and then either try to find a job on the points visa or continue my studies for PhD and transition my career into research and teaching. PhD is what I want to do but I’m getting older, and it will be hard. (Doing this in Japan will actually be much cheaper than doing it in the states)

Option 3: Try to find a job and get an Engineer Visa – I have no idea how easy or hard this is, but my concern is I might need a year or two to get some decent level of Japanese.

Option 4: Start a business. I’m willing to try to start a business, have about 300k USD to invest. But I think is crazy idea – I speak no Japanese and I think I need to legit first live there for a bit.

Currently, I’m thinking either:

Option 1 and then Option 3 – I get to learn some basic Japanese, travel and if I don’t like it, move back and if I like it try to get a job.
Or
Option 2 + Language Study (but no PhD) – I can get a degree and also sign for language courses. It will be harder, but I’d also hopefully get a degree.