Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

surname question 2021/9/27 22:39
This is my first time doing something like this. I am hoping to know more about my family's last name and I cant seem to find what I'm looking for. I was born in the U.S and raised here but I am...I guess multiracial? I am not sure but that isn't important. My grandmother was Japanese and my mother was mixed. My father is white so I feel pretty removed from my mother's side of the family but I am hoping someone can tell me what the Kanji characters of my grandmother's Surname mean. It was Ryusaki and while I know the kanji for it I would like to know its 'break down'. I'm too embarrassed to ask my aunts and uncles and my grandmother and mother have passed away. I've visited them a couple of times but haven't been able to see them in a couple of years and we barely call or text. I just would like to know more about my family's name before I visit them again, I think that it would be nice and make me feel more connected to them.

Sorry if this is long or weird I've never done this and my cultural background is pretty sensitive since I live in a pretty backwoods town in America. If anyone could help that would be great -please be kind <3
by alli (guest)  

Re: surname question 2021/9/28 08:41
Well whatever you have found using Google is about as much as what anyone here could tell you.

You should ask family as they will be able to tell more like family history and or old living family conditions back in Japan.
by H (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: surname question 2021/9/28 09:28
“Ryuzaki” can be written in a few different ways in kanji - for example, 龍崎 and 竜崎, these two would be the most common ways, but there are others. Is yours one of these two?
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: surname question 2021/9/28 10:03