Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Mental health and medication 2021/10/30 18:25
About a decade ago I used to work in the mental health field in the US, but made a career change and now teach university in Japan. When I first came to Japan, everyone (both Japanese and foreign) would tell me how behind the mental health field was in Japan compared to the US. Therapists, psychiatrists, crisis intervention, and especially medication wasn't common. The medications for depression, anxiety, and panic attacks that Americans considered normal were rarely prescribed here. Whether any of that is true, I don't know because I never sought it out myself. However, I still hear this today.

Is this just a myth now though? Because the past two years, especially because of COVID, family, friends, and coworkers have been very forthcoming about their mental health and there seems to be a common occurrence... Doctors are more than happy to prescribe rather heavy medications with little to no discussion!

My partner lost his father due to COVID and sought out therapy to help deal with it. At the first appointment the therapist suggested my partner go to a psychiatrist for medication. My partner was confused, but went anyway. The psychiatrist asked a few questions and then asked my partner if he'd like to try some medication. The psychiatrist suggested that if he thinks he's depressed, anxious, or having panic attacks, he can try ABC, OPQ, or XYZ. This was my partner's first interactions with the mental health field and he didn't feel comfortable diagnosing himself and choosing his own medication, so he turned it down and is now looking for a new therapist.