Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Non Japanese baby with Japanese name? 2021/12/5 01:35
Ifm 29 years old and live in Canada. My girlfriend and I are having a daughter due in 6 months. She will be 1/2 Filipino 1/4 black 1/4 white. Is it ok for us to give her a Japanese name? Wefve been looking all over the internet and social media for girl names and we honestly donft like any of them I feel like theyfre to basic or too common. We do like 2 Japanese names Kojima and Umiko (leaning towards Kojima)

Im a nurse and I had a patient a few years ago named Kojima and she was so nice and I always liked her name.

We both want our daughter to have a nice unique name but we also donft want her to have an identity crisis at any point. We live in Canada, neither of us are Japanese, nor can we speak the language and we donft want her to feel awkward having to explain herself when people ask her name and what ethnicity she is.

We also donft want her to have such a common English name that 10 people in her highschool have the same name as her.
by Justin (guest)  

Re: Non Japanese baby with Japanese name? 2021/12/5 11:11
I might be wrong, but the name Kojima sounds more like a last name or island name to be honest.

As a teacher who has dealt with thousands of kids - it's good to be unique with names but don't make it too obscure as that has other problems when a child gets older.
by mfedley rate this post as useful

Re: Non Japanese baby with Japanese name? 2021/12/5 11:28
Kojima is a Japanese family, not a female first name.

Umico (Yumiko?) is a female name but most parents don't name their baby today, although names which sounds old fashioned (shiwa-shiwa-name) is popular among some parents.