Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Planning extra long stay for study and travel 2022/2/20 10:13
I am a Dutch pensioner planning a long stay in Japan in 2023 that includes travelling across the country in a campervan as well as staying in Tokyo for at least one month and enrolling in calligraphy and language courses. (At this moment I am studying Japanese and aim to do JLPT5 in December.) The trouble is that I fear 90 days is not enough for everything I want to do, and I wonder in what way I can qualify for an extension of my stay for a longer period of study. (I am a Dutch citizen and no, I do not have 30M \!) Getting a workable itinerary together within 90 days is a real puzzle that would become a lot easier if I could extend the stay.
by Adri Wiltens (guest)  

Re: Planning extra long stay for study and travel 2022/2/20 12:01
Having a car in Japan while you travel significantly opens up your travel opportunities if you are mainly outside of main cities. However, a campervan will significantly impact you ability to travel as almost no location will have parking outside of caravan parks
by mfedley rate this post as useful

Re: Planning extra long stay for study and travel 2022/2/20 15:12
Take a short flight to South Korea and return the day after for a new 90 day period?
by sullon rate this post as useful

Re: Planning extra long stay for study and travel 2022/2/20 16:07
As PP said the only option is to leave Japan temporarily (eg have a few days in Korea or TAiwan) and return. Unless you do this repeatedly it is not a problem.
Unfortunately with Dutch nationality you are not eligible for the 90 day extension as a few other European countries are.