Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Getting a japanese visa with criminal record 2022/4/6 09:26
Hi all,

So I'm in a bit of a conundrum and I wonder if anybody possibly have any answers that can help me.

Quick background:
I used to live in japan, I studied there and lived there on and off with my girlfriend on tourist visas for over 6 years. I've been faschinated with the country since I was 7 years old and it has been my goal to live there for a long time. I speak japanese. At the moment I'm working on my university degree to be able to be eligible for a working visa.

The problem:
The problem is that in my time back in my home country, in the time after leaving japan last time, I've been caught and convicted for having smoked cannabis. I don't do it anymore but anyway, it is on my criminal record.

I know that they are super strict about narcotics in japan and that I'm technically not allowed to go there anymore. I also know that when flying there you get to fill out a small form where they ask you about criminal convictions before you can enter the country. From my research I realize that I can simply lie on this form and tick "No" as an answer and the japanese immigration will have no way of fact-checking my answer.

My concern however is rather the visa application in itself and also since I intend to settle down in Japan and live there for a long time, I will have to re-apply for new visas in the future and possibly also for a citizenship down the line. I'm worried and I wonder if I will have to supply the immigration office / embassy with my criminal records at some point? I would hate to have been living there for a few years and suddenly have to go back to my home country and start my life all over again. That would be even worse than not going at all.