Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Koyo Dream Trip 2022/5/15 12:19
Hi All,

A bit of background before I start the main question. I'm a teacher who normally has set holiday times but I might have a flexible 6 months (July-December) for the first time in 15 years. As such - I am looking at potentially planning a 4-6 week trip around Honshu visiting places I've not seen before.

I'm not interested in comments about borders not opening up - as I won't buy tickets until I can go. I've visited many of the more commonly known Koyo (fall colour) locations known to foreigners (Kyoto ,Oroise Stream, Kamikochi, Shosenkyo Gorge, Nikko).

However - I'm after some things which I may have missed or might not be that well known to foreign tourists. I'm also flexible with my timing - but I'm more looking for the best 4-6 week timing to visit Japan and locations that can potentially be around their best. I'm also aware that fall colours can be temperamental depending on the season.
by mfedley  

Re: Koyo Dream Trip 2022/5/15 18:12
The Fall season is my favorite season. I can recommend Mt. Koya and Miyajima Island. Mt. Koya can be a little cold during the koyo, but its very beautiful. Miyajima Island is a treasure (beautiful and lots of yummy food such as momiji manju, a sweet famous during the koyo).

I also loved Nara and Kyoto during the Fall season, but you've already been to Kyoto. Have you visited Arashiyama? Or perhaps, go a little further away in Kurama and Kibune, or even Ohara (these are not that famous among foreign tourists).

Have you been to Hokkaido? The posts this website has about koyo in Hokkaido are very beautiful. You might want to check them out ;)
by Sophia (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Koyo Dream Trip 2022/5/15 22:16

This place is very special in Autumn: http://www.ginkonyu.com/